Daily mobility and urban studies seminar


From 14/10/2021 to 20/01/2022 @ 15:30 - 12:00

Zoom

Daily mobility and urban studies seminar

This seminar aims to reveal what urban studies can bring to the understanding of daily mobility, and vice versa. Daily mobilities will be approached by their actors – arrangements, laws, procedures, networks, information, categories of practices and public policies, etc. – and by their actors – users or users, political actors, public and state services, public transport unions, mobility services companies, research and engineering firms, associations, etc. Urban studies are included here in a double objectal and critical dimension.

This proposal is doubly innovative. On the one hand, with the notable exception of work on peri-urbanization and metropolization, urban studies have seldom taken up the question of daily mobility, even if the subject has recently emerged around the question of spatial justice. On the other hand, research on passenger transport, after having taken a close interest in the social consequences of mobility policies in the 1970s and 1980s, gradually eluded them, preferring in particular themes such as that of sustainability or accessibility. While the social question is gaining momentum in the news of the transport field, in particular when it is interpolated with environmental issues (movement of yellow vests for example) or health (covid 19 crisis), this seminar will aim to raise avenues for the interweaving of these two fields of study which are now highly distinct.

The sessions of the seminar will give pride of place to theoretical proposals and to the presentation of how these proposals fit together with fieldwork. Each session will be organized around a unique intervention during which one or more researchers will present their work and the way in which it renews epistemological reflection on daily mobility. The consecutive exchanges will make it possible to bring out the various existing intersections or to be developed between urban studies and research on passenger transport.

Calendar October 2021-January 2022

October 14, 2021 – 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. – Emma Peltier – Going into town from the slum. Study the daily mobility of “Roma” women to understand the accessibility of the city
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/98096153525?pwd=MnNNeTNHU2I2VGRkL054aEpLVHZoZz09 (Meeting ID: 980 9615 3525; Access code: EVS5600)

November 12, 2021 – 2 p.m. – 4 p.m. – Yoann Demoli – Mobilities put to the test of the environment. Social stratification of mobility and their environmental effects
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/93122349927?pwd=K3l3NG1jbC9aNkR0VUpuRDBYUlBuQT09 (Meeting ID: 931 2234 9927; Access code: EVS5600)

December 7, 2021 – 2 p.m. – 4 p.m. – Gwenaelle Raton – Delivering in short circuits: the mobilities of farmers as revealing of emerging food territories. Case studies in France
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/95724616689?pwd=S3NqL2Y1RDNiUzN0WXZXdENxeWlYUT09 (Meeting ID: 957 2461 6689; Access code: EVS5600)

January 20, 2022 – 10 am-12pm – Thomas Buhler – Scrutinize, dissect and compare urban plans by the dozen. Concealment and vagueness in discourse on mobility
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/97824356828?pwd=QnZXcElnbmpLUzlMaU9zaTNSek1xZz09 (Meeting ID: 978 2435 6828; Access Code: EVS5600)

Useful information

The sessions will be organized using the Zoom software, participation is free by following the links above.

Sessions are likely to be recorded.

The announcement of the dates as well as the reports and videos of the seminars will be available on the new Critical Mobilities research notebook: https://mc.hypotheses.org

For any information, contact Matthieu Adam: matthieu.adam@ens-lyon.fr

Add to Calendar 14/10/202115:30 20/01/202212:00 Europe/Paris Daily mobility and urban studies seminar 6t Zoom MM/DD/YYYY

Séminaire Mobilités quotidiennes et études urbaines


Du 14/10/2021 au 20/01/2022 @ 15:00 - 12:00

Zoom

Séminaire Mobilités quotidiennes et études urbaines

Ce séminaire vise à dévoiler ce que les études urbaines peuvent apporter à la compréhension des mobilités quotidiennes, et vice versa. Les mobilités quotidiennes seront à la fois approchées par leurs actants – aménagements, lois, procédures, réseaux, informations, catégories de pratiques et de politiques publiques, etc. – et par leurs acteurs – usagers ou utilisateurs, acteurs politiques, services des collectivités et des États, syndicats de transport collectif, entreprises des services de mobilité, bureaux d’études et cabinets d’ingénierie, associations, etc. Les études urbaines sont comprises ici dans une double dimension objectale et critique.

Cette proposition innove doublement. D’un côté, à l’exception notable des travaux sur la périurbanisation et sur la métropolisation, les études urbaines se sont peu saisies de la question des mobilités quotidiennes, même si le sujet a récemment émergé autour de la question de la justice spatiale. De l’autre, les recherches sur le transport de personnes, après s’être intéressées de près aux conséquences sociales des politiques de mobilités dans les années 1970 et 1980, les ont progressivement éludées, leur préférant notamment des thématiques comme celle de la durabilité ou de l’accessibilité. Alors que la question sociale reprend de l’épaisseur dans l’actualité du champ des transports, notamment quand elle s’interpole avec des enjeux environnementaux (mouvement des gilets jaunes par exemple) ou sanitaires (crise de la covid 19), le présent séminaire visera à soulever des pistes d’imbrications de ces deux champs d’études aujourd’hui fortement distincts.

Les séances du séminaire donneront la part belle aux propositions théoriques et à la présentation de la manière dont s’agencent ces propositions avec le travail de terrain. Chaque séance s’organisera autour d’une intervention unique lors de laquelle un·e ou des chercheur·es présenteront leur travail et la manière dont il renouvelle la réflexion épistémologique sur les mobilités quotidiennes. Les échanges consécutifs permettront de faire émerger les différentes intersections existantes ou à développer entre études urbaines et recherche sur le transport de personnes.

Calendrier octobre 2021-janvier 2022

14 octobre 2021 – 15-17h – Emma Peltier – Aller en ville depuis le bidonville. Etudier les mobilités quotidiennes des femmes « roms » pour saisir l’accessibilité de la ville
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/98096153525?pwd=MnNNeTNHU2I2VGRkL054aEpLVHZoZz09 (ID de réunion : 980 9615 3525 ; Code d’accès : EVS5600)

12 novembre 2021 – 14-16h – Yoann Demoli – Les mobilités à l’épreuve de l’environnement. La stratification sociale des mobilités et de leurs effets environnementaux
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/93122349927?pwd=K3l3NG1jbC9aNkR0VUpuRDBYUlBuQT09 (ID de réunion : 931 2234 9927 ; Code d’accès : EVS5600)

7 décembre 2021 – 14-16h – Gwenaelle Raton – Livrer en circuits courts : les mobilités des agriculteurs comme révélatrices des territoires alimentaires émergents. Études de cas en France
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/95724616689?pwd=S3NqL2Y1RDNiUzN0WXZXdENxeWlYUT09 (ID de réunion : 957 2461 6689 ; Code d’accès : EVS5600)

20 janvier 2022 – 10-12h – Thomas Buhler – Scruter, disséquer et confronter les plans d’urbanisme par dizaines. Dissimulations et flous dans les discours sur les mobilités
https://cnrs.zoom.us/j/97824356828?pwd=QnZXcElnbmpLUzlMaU9zaTNSek1xZz09 (ID de réunion : 978 2435 6828 ; Code d’accès : EVS5600)

Informations pratiques

Les séances seront organisées sur le logiciel Zoom, la participation est libre en suivant les liens ci-avant.

Les séances sont susceptibles d’être enregistrées.

L’annonce des dates ainsi que les comptes-rendus et vidéos des séminaires seront disponibles sur le nouveau carnet de recherches Mobilités Critiques : https://mc.hypotheses.org

Pour toute information, contactez Matthieu Adam : matthieu.adam@ens-lyon.fr

Ajouter au calendrier 14/10/202115:00 20/01/202212:00 Europe/Paris Séminaire Mobilités quotidiennes et études urbaines 6t Zoom MM/DD/YYYY