Comparative analysis of the pricing of French regional trains and coaches

 

Context

Since 2002 and the implementation of the law “SRU” (Dec. 13th 2000), French regions are the authorities organizing the collective transportation offer of “regional interest”. They are therefore in charge of defining the offer and service level, through a contractualization process with the operator (SNCF until the liberalization of the market).  Moreover, since the implementation of the railway reform (August 4th 2014), the regions are authorized to set themselves the tariffs they for the routes they organize. This results in a wide variety of tariffs between regions.

Beyond the issues of financial balance of the regional transportion network, the pricing system is a key factor to ensure the attractiveness of regional public transport, as well as a tool for social equity and a lever for guiding uses. The consistency and legibility of tariffs for the user is thus key to ensure the efficiency that could be expected from the pricing system and, consequently, the attractiveness of the collective regional transport offer.

It is therefore necessary to have a precise and complete vision of the tariffs offered by the different regions. This is a first step when considering the harmonization of these tariffs. 6t-bureau de recherche, carried out a comparative analysis of the pricing of French regional trains and coaches, on behalf of the National federation of transportation users‘ associations (FNAUT) and Régions de France.

 

Methodology

This comparative analysis is based upon a comprehensive inventory of the different tariffs available, using information available online as well as provided by the regions themselves. A series of interviews with key actors of the regional and collective transportation offer in seven regions, selected so as to ensure a variety of situations, has also been conducted.

Note that Corsica and the Île-de-France region are not included in the scope of this study, as their regional transportation offer is very specific.

Coaches tariffs were also analyzed, but more succinctly, as regional rail transportation offer is the core of the study.

 

Main results

Sales channels are relatively homogeneous between regions

All regions have humanized sales channels (ticket offices), but also automatic machines in stations. They also have digital sales channels, with standardized regional websites. On the other hand, offers and tariffs may vary between sales channels, with some tariffs only available online, for example. This raises issues in terms of equity of access to these offers, particularly for people who are not at ease with new technologies.

The “full tariff”, the “commuter tariff” and social tariffs only show limited differences between regions

Depending on the region, tariffs are set according to a simple (linear) kilometer-based pricing structure or a graduated structure. There are only small differences between regions, the cost of a 40 km journey at full tariff varying between €8 and €10.

Figure 1 : Comparison of regional “full tariffs” based on a 40km journey (second class)

Similarly, the “commuter tariffs” (annual or monthly subscriptions allowing unlimited travel on a defined route) appear to be homogeneous between the different French regions, and also make the regional collective transportation offer much more economically advantageous than private car.

Figure 2 : Comparison of regional “commuter tariffs” based on a 40km journey

Finally, social tariffs, derived from SNCF commercial tariffs, are also relatively homogeneous between the different regions, particularly when it comes to age-based social tariffs.

These common features of regional tariffs would therefore benefit from being more widely promoted, enabling users to take advantage of the experience acquired while travelling in one region in other French regions.

For occasional users, tariffs are heterogeneous

On the other hand, there are some very heterogeneous tariffs between the different regions. These include group tariffs and intermodal tariffs. The question of pricing for inter-regional and, even more so, international journeys (for border regions) must also be considered. Note that regional road transport offers are heterogeneous, between regions but also between departments within the same region.

The challenge is therefore to make regional public transport offers easier to understand, by communicating, for example, on the minimum and maximum tariffs, in order to make the experience of occasional users easier and, therefore, to strengthen the competitiveness of regional public transport.

 

Click here to download the full study (in French)

A project sheet is available

Share this publication :

Analyse comparée des tarifications régionales de l’offre de transport interurbaine

 

Contexte

Depuis 2002 et l’entrée en vigueur de la loi SRU du 13 décembre 2000, les régions sont devenues autorités organisatrices de transport pour l’offre dite « d’intérêt régional ». Ce sont donc elles qui définissent l’offre et le niveau de service des TER sur leur territoire, en contractualisant avec l’opérateur (SNCF jusqu’à l’ouverture à la concurrence). De plus, depuis la mise en application de la loi du 4 août 2014 portant réforme ferroviaire, les régions sont autorisées à fixer les tarifs qu’elles souhaitent pour les lignes qu’elles organisent. En résulte une grande variété des tarifs entre les différentes régions.

Au-delà des enjeux d’équilibre financier du réseau, le système de tarification constitue un important facteur d’attractivité des transports collectifs régionaux, ainsi qu’un outil d’équité sociale dans l’accès au territoire et un levier d’orientation des usages. La cohérence et la lisibilité des tarifs pour l’usager est donc cruciale pour assurer l’efficacité que l’on pourrait attendre de l’outil tarifaire et, partant, l’attractivité des offres TER.

Dans ce contexte, il convient alors de disposer d’une vision précise et complète des tarifs proposés par les différentes régions, dans l’optique d’une réflexion sur un rapprochement de ces tarifs. 6t-bureau de recherche a ainsi réalisé, pour le compte de la FNAUT (Fédération nationale des associations d’usagers des transports) et de l’association Régions de France, une analyse comparée des tarifications régionales de l’offre de transport interurbaine (trains et autocars).

 

Méthodologie

Cette analyse comparée s’appuie sur un recensement exhaustif des différents tarifs disponibles, à partir des informations accessibles en ligne mais aussi fournies par les régions. Une série d’entretiens auprès d’acteurs clés de l’offre TER dans sept régions sélectionnées afin de rassembler une variété d’expériences et de situations vient compléter cet inventaire.

À noter que la Corse ainsi que la région Île-de-France ne font pas partie du champ de cette étude, en raison de leurs spécificités trop importantes en matière d’offre de transport régionale.

Les offres tarifaires des autocars ont par ailleurs été analysées de manière plus succincte, les transports régionaux ferroviaires constituant le cœur de l’étude.

 

Principaux résultats

Des canaux de vente relativement homogènes entre régions

Toutes les régions disposent de canaux de vente humanisés, sous la forme de guichets, mais également d’automates en gare. Elles possèdent de plus des canaux de vente numériques, avec des sites internet régionaux standardisés. En revanche, les offres comme les tarifs peuvent varier entre canaux de vente, certains tarifs n’étant par exemple disponibles qu’en ligne. Cela soulève alors des enjeux d’équité d’accès à ces offres, notamment pour des publics peu ou pas à l’aise avec les nouvelles technologies.

Un « plein tarif », un « tarif pendulaire » et des tarifs sociaux présentant des différences limitées entre régions

En fonction des régions, les tarifs sont établis selon une tarification kilométrique simple (linéaire) ou par paliers. Les écarts entre régions sont relativement faibles, le coût d’un trajet de 40 km au plein tarif variant entre 8 et 10€.

Figure 1 : Comparaison des tarifications standard régionales sur la base d’un trajet de 40km en seconde classe

De même, les tarifs des abonnements à destination des pendulaires (abonnements permettant de voyager en illimité sur un trajet défini) apparaissent homogènes entre les différentes régions, et rendent par ailleurs le TER bien plus avantageux économiquement que la voiture personnelle.

Figure 2 : Comparaison régionale du coût mensuel d’un abonnement proposant de voyager en illimité sur un trajet défini

Enfin, les tarifs sociaux, issus des tarifs commerciaux de la SNCF, sont eux-aussi relativement harmonisés entre les différentes régions, notamment pour ce qui est des tarifs sociaux établis en fonction de l’âge.

Ces points communs aux offres tarifaires des différentes régions gagneraient ainsi à être davantage mis en valeur, permettant aux usagers de mettre à profit dans les autres régions l’expérience acquise en voyageant dans une région.

Des divergences pour les usagers occasionnels

Il existe en revanche des tarifs très hétérogènes entre les régions. Il s’agit notamment des tarifs de groupe et des tarifs intermodaux. La question de la tarification des trajets inter-régionaux et, à plus forte raison, internationaux (pour les régions frontalières) se pose également. À noter que les offres de transport routier régional sont hétérogènes, entre régions mais également entre départements au sein d’une même région.

L’enjeu est alors de faciliter la lisibilité des offres régionales de transport collectif, en communiquant par exemple sur les prix plancher et plafond, afin de rendre l’expérience des usagers occasionnels plus facile et plus évidente et, partant, de renforcer la compétitivité des transports collectifs régionaux.

 

 

Télécharger le rapport d’analyse

 

Une fiche projet est disponible

Partagez cette publication :