Evaluating the relative opportunities of human-based and automated, technology-enabled behaviour change programs

A study by 6t for the ADEME

The ADEME publishes a new study on behaviour change, conducted by 6t

The climate change emergency calls for prompt and large-scale measures. While the necessity to reduce polluting practices such as car-use, overconsumption of disposable plastic items, or high electricity consumption now appear unchallenged, unsustainable practices display a strong inertia (Draetta, 2003; Philipps-Bertin, 2004 ; Rocci, 2007 ; Howarth, 2009). Several barometers published by the ADEME have also shed light on this discrepancy between opinions and daily practices.

Not only does the material context strongly determine social practices by enabling or preventing alternative practices, but many barriers to change also exist at the individual level. In this context, how can one induce the evolution of individual habits, perceptions and skills? How can environmental values be made to transfer into actions? This is the goal of voluntary behaviour change programs.

Voluntary behaviour change programs aim at inducing a sample of beneficiaries to reflect on their own practices, understand their negative impact, and progressively work towards forming a behaviour change goal, and in turn, and effective change of habits. To achieve this goal, these programs use targeted information and personalised advice on a sample of beneficiaries who are in a position to change their practices, that is, live in a context were alternative ways are available and achievable.

These programs have been highly influenced by a wide variety of theoretical models (Theory of Planned Behaviour d’Ajzen, 1991 ; Theory of Interpersonal Behaviour de Triandis, 1977 ; Norm-activation model de Schwartz, 1977 ; Prochaska et Di Clemente, 1986), and experimented in different disciplines, from waste recycling (e.g Viscusi et al., 2011.) to nutrition (e.g. ADEME, 2016 ; Bird et al., 2013), energy sobriety (e.g. Asensio et Delmas, 2016 ; Standdon et al., 2016) to mobility (Rocci, 2007, 2008, 2009 ; Lagadic et al. ; 2019). The latter domain has given rise to largest-scale programs internationally, such as those using the IndiMark® (Social Data/Sustrans) and Travel Blending® (Steer) methods.

Empirical experimentations have proved to be very efficient, but are limited in scale by their strong cost-intensity. A review conducted by Lagadic et al. (2019) and based on programs experimented in France in the field of mobility evaluated the average cost/efficiency ratio at about 973€ per beneficiary, and 2840€ per beneficiary who affectively changed behaviour. These estimations were based on small-scale programs that relied intensively on counsellors-beneficiary interactions to induce change.

How can these progams reach a wider scale? Digital technologies offer new opportunities to automate some functions so as to limit workforce related costs. Research in the field of persuasive technology, which has developed since the 2000s, explore perspectives for replacing human counsellors by entirely digital yet highly personalised tools. What are the opportunities offered by new technologies to generalise these programs and achieve a large-scale impact?

This report presents the result of a three-phase study: first, a literature review covering both theoretical models and empirical evidence related to behaviour change ; second, an in-depth analysis of 5 programs, then compared with an additional 15 cases ; third, operational guidelines to integrate automated, numerical features into behaviour change programs, as well as to better evaluate their efficiency. The report concludes by identifying key avenues for future research.

Key results include the following. Automating behaviour change programs through the use of digital solutions offers a certain number of opportunities :

  • Using automated technological solutions actually allows to present beneficiaires with more personalised contents : the use of complex algorithms allows for the adaptation of targetd information and advice to participants’ practices, constraints, or even their personality. While traditional programs rely on an interpersonal interaction, this interaction is not entirely free, but rather organised around standardised contents the counsellor bases his or her advice on. Human counsellors do not have the same capacity to cross-analyse informations and are thus not able to provide the same level of tayloring that a computer would.
  • Most ambitious VTBC programs integrate a variety of incitative tools. Using new technologies makes the combination of multiple tools easier, thus making the program attractive to a wider sample of users.
  • Behaviour change is structured into different phases, that have been identified in social psychological research. Each phase comes with specific needs ; using technological tools allows to better monitor participants’ progression from one phase to the other. It thus becomes possible to adapt contents to the specific stage in which the individual user finds himself/herself at a given time, thus optimising efficiency.
  • Using digital technologies offers prospects for developing tools that have been little explored in traditional, human-based programs. This is especially the case for gamification, as well as real-time peer-to-peer comparison.
  • Using digital technologies eases data collection and processing. This not only optimises the use of traditional tools such as feedback, but can also greatly improve program evaluation.
  • Once the digital tool is created, its diffusion to an extra participant (marginal cost) is close to none (to the exception of data storage and API fees). Technology thus makes large-scale deployment possible at a reasonable cost.

A certain number of risks should also be kept in mind :

  • The use of technological tools may evict certain publics, especially the elder and as well as precarious households. On-demand human counselling may be a solution to ensure the inclusivity of these programs.
  • While little data is available on the relative efficiency of human-based and technology-based recruitment, interviews conducted with key actors in the sector suggest that door-to-door recruitment, as well as the organisation of real-life events, may ease recruitment and ensure a variety of profiles.
  • Key governance challenges have been identified : many programs did not come to fruition due to a difficult coordination between local governments, private firms and academic research teams. Similarly, the great heterogeneity of evaluation protocols, and the lack of a rigorous evaluation in may cases, limits the progress of reseach in the sector.

This report thus reach a certain number of operational recommandations, including :

  • Privileging deployment at a scale that allows users to be acquainted with each other, so as to create a social dynamic around the program. Large-scale deployment is achieved through a multiplication of user communities ;
  • Exploring the opportunities offered in the sector of mobility – travel planners used to optimise the issuance of personalised advice – and energy – use of automatically collected data for real-time feedback)
  • Using technology at the pre-action stage (the beneficiary is willing to change but has not yet identified a suitable solution) to provide the most personalised advice, as well as in the post-action stage (the beneficiary has changed his behaviour) to ensure maintenance in the long-run. This last-phase is little tackled in traditional, human-based programs.
  • Developing those tools that were little efficient in human-based programs : gamification and real-time peer-to-peer comparison
  • Seizing the opportunity offered by digital technologies to improve and standardise evaluation methods, so as to move VTBC research forward.

The full report and its synthesis (in French) can be found on the ADEME website :
Share this publication :

Étude sur l’analyse de l’efficacité de l’accompagnement au changement de comportement automatisé au regard de l’accompagnement humanisé

Une étude 6t pour le compte de l’ADEME

L’ADEME publie une nouvelle étude sur les changements de comportements, réalisée par 6t

L’urgence climatique appelle des mesures rapides et de grande ampleur. Alors que la nécessité de réduire les pratiques polluantes telles que la surconsommation de plastique, l’usage de la voiture en ville, ou la surconsommation énergétique apparaît aujourd’hui comme une évidence, une grande inertie des pratiques peut être observée (Draetta, 2003 ; Philipps-Bertin, 2004 ; Rocci, 2007 ; Howarth, 2009). Les baromètres réalisés par l’ADEME mettent également en évidence ce décalage entre les opinions et les pratiques.

Outre le contexte matériel qui oriente fortement les pratiques sociales en donnant la possibilité ou non de faire autrement, dans une situation de choix, de nombreux freins persistent à l’échelle individuelle. Dans ce cadre, comment faire évoluer les habitudes, les perceptions et compétences individuelles, et comment faire en sorte que ces valeurs environnementales se reflètent dans les actions ? C’est toute l’ambition des programmes d’incitation au changement de comportement volontaire.

Déployés dans des contextes où une solution alternative existe et basés sur des informations ciblées et des conseils personnalisés, les programmes d’incitation au changement de comportement volontaire ont pour objectif d’induire une réflexivité auprès des bénéficiaires sur leurs pratiques, de manière à les amener à cheminer, par eux-mêmes, vers un changement de comportement. Ces programmes sont fortement influencés par les théories du comportement individuel (Theory of Planned Behaviour d’Ajzen, 1991 ; Theory of Interpersonal Behaviour de Triandis, 1977 ; Norm-activation model de Schwartz, 1977), et les modèles de changement de comportement tels que celui de Prochaska et Di Clemente (1986).

Des programmes de ce type ont été développés dans une variété de domaines, du recyclage (e.g Viscusi et al., 2011.) à l’alimentation (e.g. ADEME, 2016 ; Bird et al., 2013), la sobriété énergétique (e.g. Asensio et Delmas, 2016 ; Standdon et al., 2016) et la mobilité (Rocci, 2009 ; Lagadic et al. ; 2019). C’est dans ce dernier domaine que ces programmes ont pris le plus d’ampleur à l’international, via les méthodes IndiMark® (Social Data/Sustrans) et Travel Blending® (Steer), tous deux expérimentés auprès de plusieurs dizaines de milliers de bénéficiaires par programme en Angleterre, Allemagne, Australie, et aux USA.

Ces programmes ont prouvé leur efficacité dans différents domaines, mais sont néanmoins limités en échelle par leur coût élevé : une revue réalisée par Lagadic et al. (2019) et basée sur des programmes d’incitation au changement de comportement de mobilité déployés en France, évalue un rapport coût/efficacité moyen de 973€ par bénéficiaire, et de 2840€ par bénéficiaire ayant changé de comportement pour des programmes de moins de 300 bénéficiaires reposant très fortement sur les interactions conseillers-bénéficiaires.

Comment faire en sorte que ces programmes atteignent un nombre plus important d’usagers ? Les technologies numériques offrent de nouvelles opportunités pour automatiser certaines opérations de manière à limiter l’investissement dans la main d’œuvre. Les technologies persuasives, domaine de recherche qui s’est développé depuis le début des années 2000, pourraient permettre de remplacer un conseiller ‘humain’ par un outil entièrement automatisé mais tout en garantissant la personnalisation des informations. Quelles sont les opportunités offertes par les nouvelles technologies pour généraliser ces programmes d’incitation et massifier les changements de comportement ?

Ce rapport présente les résultats des trois phases de l’étude : une revue de littérature scientifique à la fois théorique et empirique sur les incitations au changement de comportement ; l’étude approfondie de cinq programmes mise en regard avec une quinzaine d’autres cas ; des préconisations opérationnelles pour l’intégration d’éléments automatisés dans les programmes d’accompagnement au changement de comportement ainsi que pour mesurer et évaluer leurs effets. Des pistes de recherche sont également proposées.

Les résultats clés de cette recherche sont les suivants. L’automatisation via l’usage des technologies numériques offre plusieurs opportunités :

  • L’usage de solutions technologiques permet d’améliorer la personnalisation des contenus : l’usage d’algorithmes complexes permet d’adapter les messages aux pratiques des répondants, à leurs contraintes, voire même à leur personnalité. Si les programmes humanisés intègrent une interaction de personne à personne, celle-ci n’est pas entièrement libre : les conseillers s’appuient sur des supports standardisés, n’ont pas la même capacité d’analyse croisée des données qu’un ordinateur, et ne sont donc pas en capacité d’offrir le même niveau de personnalisation.
  • Les programmes les plus ambitieux intègrent une variété d’outils incitatifs. L’usage d’outils technologiques permet de multiplier les outils, pour répondre aux besoins d’une variété d’usagers.
  • Le changement de comportement se structure en différentes phases, identifiées par la recherche en psychologie sociale. Chaque phase implique des besoins spécifiques ; l’usage d’outils numériques permet de suivre la progression d’une phase à l’autre en quasi-temps réel, de manière à fournir les conseils et informations adaptés aux besoins des individus au fur et à mesure de leur progression individuelle.
  • L’usage du numérique permet de développer de nouveaux outils, difficiles à mobiliser dans le cadre de programmes humanisés. C’est notamment le cas de la gamification, et de la comparaison sociale.
  • Grâce au numérique, la collecte et le traitement des données sont facilités, ce qui permet à la fois d’optimiser certains outils traditionnels tels que le feedback, mais aussi d’améliorer l’évaluation des programmes
  • Une fois l’outil numérique créé, sa diffusion à un individu supplémentaire (coût marginal) n’implique qu’un coût quasi-nul (frais de serveur, coût de requêtes via API). Grâce au numérique, la diffusion à très grande échelle devient possible, à un coût maîtrisé.

Un certain nombre de points de vigilance ont également été identifiés :

  • Un risque d’éviction de certains publics, notamment les plus âgés et les plus précaires. Le maintien d’un accompagnement humanisé, pour ces publics spécifiques, pourrait être pertinent pour assurer l’inclusivité des démarches.
  • Bien que peu de données soient disponibles sur l’efficacité relative du recrutement humanisé et du recrutement automatisé (via un outil numérique), des entretiens menés avec des acteurs du secteur suggèrent que le recrutement en face-à-face, ainsi que la tenue d’événements en présentiel, améliorent l’efficacité du recrutement et permettent d’assurer une diversité de profils.
  • Des enjeux clés de gouvernance ont également été identifiés : plusieurs programmes n’ont pas pu être menés à bien du fait de difficulté de coordination entre collectivités locales, chercheurs universitaires et entreprises privées. De la même manière, la grande hétérogénéité des méthodes d’évaluation, et un manque d’évaluations rigoureuses dans certains cas, limitent la progression de la recherche dans ce secteur.

Le rapport, ainsi que sa synthèse, sont disponibles sur la médiathèque ADEME :
Partagez cette publication :