The Impacts of Uber on Car Use in the Greater Paris Region

Context

TNCs began operating in dense metropolitan areas that were already subject to alarmingly high levels of air and noise pollution, as well as traffic congestion and conflicts over public space use. The question of their impacts on the volume of automobile traffic in those cities has hence emerged as a widely debated topic, and as a fundamental matter to address. Yet, much of the rare academic literature having flourished around the issue puts forward neither consensual conclusions nor robust scientific evidence regarding the effects of TNCs on Vehicle Miles Travelled (VMT) or Vehicle Kilometers Travelled (VKT).

The effects of TNCs on automobile traffic will vary according to which modes are being substituted. In addition to considering the VKT generated by TNC drivers, it thus seems important to analyze the influence of TNC use on mobility behavior, such as car ownership, in order to estimate, in turn, the impacts of those changes on traffic in a given area. In order to tackle this subject in Paris’ Metropolitan Region (Île-de-France), a study, commissioned by Uber France, was conducted by a consortium of experts: 6t-bureau de recherche the Paris Region Urban and Environmental Agency (Institut d’Aménagement et d’Urbanisme d’Île-de-France, (IAU-IDF)), the “Cities, Mobility and Transportation” research laboratory (Laboratoire Villes, Mobilité, Transports, LVMT) and Jean-Pierre Orfeuil.

Methodology

The methodology deployed mainly relies on a survey of Uber users in Île-de-France (IDF), diffused by Uber in December 2017. 95 questions asked respondents about their mobility practices as well as their car equipment and, if applicable, the circumstances of car equipment reduction. After quality control, 1966 respondents who lived in the area of interest were kept for the analysis. The methodological apparatus, which also relied on data transmitted by Uber France and data from the 2010 Global Transportation Survey (EGT), aimed at:

  • Isolating and quantifying the influence of Uber on household car ownership amongst Uber users in IDF
  • Estimating VKT avoided by car equipment reduction
  • Extrapolating the results to the 2.1 million Uber users in IDF
  • Determining VKT generated by Uber drivers

Main results

  • The study finds that 17% of Uber users’ households have gotten rid of (at least) one car since the diffusion of Uber in IDF. Alone, the services provided by Uber do not suffice to incite a household car-equipment reduction. However, the study finds that Uber played a major role, alongside other factors, in 25% of the cases where Uber users abandoned their (or one of their) household’s car.
  • Uber’s determining role in some cases of household cars being abandoned corresponds to a daily avoidance of between 1.5 to 3 million VKT, which is equivalent to between 1.5% and 3% of VKT produced daily by the inhabitants of IDF using their personal cars on their region’s roads.
  • During and between rides, Uber drivers generate 2.4 million kilometers per day in IDF, which corresponds to 2.4% of daily regional VKT.
  • Subtracting avoided VKT to generated VKT, we find an overall impact of Uber on local VKT between -0.6% and +0.9%. According to this estimate, Uber would contribute either to a reduction or to an increase of regional VKT. In either direction, in 2017, the effects of Uber were equivalent to less than 1% of VKT in IDF, and may thus be referred to as marginal.

Full study report (in French) available on-demand at info@6-t.co


Photo source : Pixabay

Share this publication :

Impact d’Uber sur l’utilisation de la voiture en Île-de-France

Contexte et enjeux

Les sociétés numériques de mise en relation de Voiture de Transport avec Chauffeur (VTC) ont d’abord fait irruption dans les centres de grandes métropoles très denses, exposées à des niveaux de pollution atmosphérique et sonore alarmants et réputées pour leurs problèmes endémiques de congestion et d’occupation automobile d’espace public. La question des impacts des VTC sur l’automobilité, et notamment sur le trafic, est donc devenue centrale. Pourtant, la majorité des rares travaux à ce sujet, n’avancent ni conclusions consensuelles, ni preuves robustes quant à l’impact du trafic sur le volume de trafic (véhicules.kilomètres).

Pour comprendre les impacts de l’utilisation des VTC sur le trafic, il convient de considérer non seulement le trafic généré par les chauffeurs connectés aux plateformes, mais aussi d’analyser l’influence des VTC sur les comportements de mobilité de leurs usagers. Il apparaît notamment important de se demander dans quelle mesure et de quelle façon les VTC influencent, aux côtés d’autres facteurs, la démotorisation des ménages, et d’estimer l’impact sur le trafic de cette démotorisation. Uber France a alors sollicité un consortium d’experts pour réaliser une étude portant sur l’impact d’Uber sur le trafic en Île-de-France : 6t-bureau de recherche, l’IAU Ile de France (en la personne de Jérémy Courel), le Laboratoire Ville, Mobilité transport de l’Université Paris Est (en la personne d’Emre Korsu) et Jean-Pierre Orfeuil.

Méthodologie

L’étude repose principalement sur une enquête en ligne diffusée en décembre 2017 par la société Uber à ses inscrits franciliens ayant utilisé le service au moins une fois au cours des 12 derniers mois. 95 questions ont été posées pour caractériser l’équipement automobile des ménages, les circonstances d’abandon d’une voiture (le cas échéant) et les pratiques modales de l’usager. Après apurement des données, un échantillon de 1966 usagers résidant en Île-de-France a été obtenu.

Mobilisant, en plus de l’enquête auprès des usagers, l’EGT 2010 et des données fournies par Uber France, le dispositif méthodologie comprend 4 phases permettant de :

  • Isoler et quantifier l’influence d’Uber sur la motorisation des ménages usagers d’Uber
  • Estimer les véhicules.kilomètres évités par la démotorisation
  • Extrapoler les résultats à l’ensemble des 2.1 millions usagers d’Uber franciliens
  • Déterminer les véhicules.kilomètres générées par les chauffeurs connectés à l’application Uber

Principaux résultats

  • 17% des utilisateurs d’Uber déclarent avoir abandonné (au moins) une voiture de leur ménage sans la remplacer depuis la diffusion du service en Île-de-France. Seul, Uber ne suffit pas à inciter la démotorisation. Cependant, l’étude montre qu’Uber a joué un rôle majeur, aux côtés d’autres facteurs, pour 25% des utilisateurs appartenant à un ménage qui a abandonné une voiture au cours des 4 dernières années.
  • Le rôle déterminant d’Uber dans certains abandons de voitures permet d’éviter 1.5 à 3 millions de véhicules.kilomètres en Île-de-France par jour, soit l’équivalent d’1.5 à 3% du trafic régional.
  • Tous les chauffeurs connectés à l’application Uber un jour moyen de l’année 2017 ont généré 2.4 millions de kilomètres, soit l’équivalent de 2.4% du trafic journalier francilien.
  • En établissant le solde entre trafic évité et trafic généré : en 2017, l’impact d’Uber sur le volume de trafic régional est compris entre -0,6% et +0.9%. L’impact d’Uber sur le volume de trafic francilien, à l’heure actuelle, peut être qualifié de marginal.

Rapport complet disponible à la demande par email info@6-t.co


Source photo : Pixabay

Partagez cette publication :